Travel Bug

I’ve been bitten by the travel bug.

It’s been a short four weeks since I arrived in Cambridge, UK and I still cannot believe that at the end of this week it will all come to a close. This past month I have seen places I’ve only dreamed of seeing, met the most amazing people, and have had the most fulfilling and rich experience in every aspect. The best part about this experience coming to a close is the fact that this was only the beginning.

Since I’ve been here in the United Kingdom, I have explored Cambridge, London, visited St. Ives and Hayle, Cornwall (for one of the most beautiful beaches in the UK), seen Oxford, and spent a weekend in the beautiful city of Bath. I also visited Salisbury where I saw the Magna Carta and Stonehenge where even the pictures I took on my cell phone came out looking like I stole them from Google images. Each of these towns and cities had their own beauty: the antiquity of the buildings, the timeless architecture, and the centuries old history that surrounds all of these places simply took my breath away. I literally fell in love with every place I went and that love has manifested itself into a heightened form of a goal I’ve always had: to see and explore the world.

It is one thing to dream of seeing the places you’ve always wanted to go because you can dream and plan and imagine but never actually make it there. Now that I’ve surpassed the dreaming, now that I’ve seen [some] of the places I imagined seeing, it’s no longer just a desire to see more, it’s become necessary. I need to continue on this journey because this experience alone has shown me that my aspiration to travel the world was only the tip of the iceberg. This is what I want to do with my life. I want to continue being thrown out of my comfort zone, I want to continue meeting all the wonderful people in this world I wouldn’t have come across otherwise, I want to keep being reminded of how utterly American I am by not being in America, I want to continue quenching the thirst I have to obtain the broadest world view I can, and I want to share my experiences with anyone I can through this avenue or another and hopefully inspire those people to do the same–not just with traveling, but with any aspiration or dream they may have. Once you get a glimpse of that life or experience you’ve always wanted, it does nothing but drive you to make sure that glimpse becomes your everyday reality.

This has been a long winded post and I’ve been MIA for far too long, but I am back on my daily blogging and will have lots of pictures up very very soon..as in tomorrow and the days after.

It feels good to be enlightened and inspired. Good day to all 🙂

Leave a Reply

