Vent #1: Senior Year

Maybe I’m just experiencing senioritis but….

School is just feeling a tad in the way lately. Which is an odd thing to say, I know, because school should be my main priority. Bleh.

Well, I began my senior year of college (I feels old). The year has been going well so far actually, school has been surprisingly chill lately considering what I’ve been used to the past three years, but I think that’s how things should be since I’m a senior and on my way out of there. In no way do I want to rush any time period in my life, especially one that is a big part of my life like university, but man oh man am I just not feeling school lately haha. I mean, I’m genuinely enjoying my classes, I really like my Tennyson and Pre-Raphaelite Poets class for my senior seminar, which is not something I was expecting to enjoy, my Worlds of Music class is also surprisingly cool despite the annoying Tuesday, Thursday, FRIDAY schedule (like seriously, why?), and my two psych classes are ya know, psych: just focusing on things I already learned in more detail depending on the class. So it’s not my classes that are bothersome, it’s just the act of going to class and doing work. What an unoriginal complaint dealing with school, I know. BUT, lately I just want to live my life without the monotony of a school day! I’ve been swamping myself with extracurriculars trying to build my writing portfolio and embrace these opportunities I’ve been presented, so when I graduate I can have something to do that I want to do, and I also just really want to spend some time with myself like doing yoga in the morning and teaching myself how to play my guitar, and doing my hair, and reading for fun, and practicing my French, and writing EVEN more, and just all the things I want to do without school work looming over my head! Can I just live my life freely please?!

But that’s my little rant. Like I said, I do not want to rush it, but I am ready to embrace the parts of my life that are slightly hindered when I’m too exhausted at the end of the day because of school to do anything but what I have to do i.e. try to do my school reading and ultimately end up falling asleep on the page. I just want to wake up and have the day free to do as I please and be productive in my own personal ways…outside of the classroom. But I will no longer complain, I have a test Friday.

Peace&Love to you all<3

Leave a Reply

